The department was organized in 1972 to provide the national economy with highly qualified specialists – mechanical engineers. Specialists trained at this department work in all areas of the national economy: road transport, road construction, factories producing tractors and agricultural machines, metrology and standardization, mining and metallurgical plant and others.

On the basis of the Decree of the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan No. PP-4703 dated 05/04/2020, a new Tashkent State Transport University was created and the Department of Technological Reliability of Machines was created on the basis of the Department of Road Construction Machines and Equipment.

The department was called from 1972 to 1995 “Production and repair of cars”, 1995-1996. “Technology of car production, pedagogy and psychology”, 1996-2008. “Automotive technology. New technologies”, 2008-2011 “Technology of Automotive Industry”, 2011-2013 “Repair of vehicles and technological equipment”, 2013-2015. “Repair of cars and specialized vehicles”, 2015-2016 “Reliability of Land Transport Systems”, 2016-2017 “Operation and repair of road-building machinery and equipment”, 2017 to 2020 “Road-building machinery and equipment” and “Technological reliability of machines” from 2020 to the present.

1972-1978 the department was headed by the candidate of technical sciences, professor Nikolay Sergeevich Abramov, 1978-1983. Candidate of Technical Sciences, Associate Professor Yuldash Turopovich Turdiev, 1983-1985 candidate of technical sciences, associate professor Temir Usmanovich Mukhidov, 1985-1996 Doctor of Technical Sciences, Professor Sarvar Muқaddirovich Kadirov, 1996-1997 Doctor of Technical Sciences, Associate Professor Shukhrat Ismatovich Hikmatov, 1997-2009 Doctor of Technical Sciences, Professor, Academician Oleg Vladimirovich Lebedev, 2009-2018 Doctor of Technical Sciences, Professor Abdulaziz Adilhakovich Shermukhamedov. From 2018 to the present, the department is headed by Anvar Abdusalomovich Togaev.

The faculty of the department “Technological Reliability of Machines” consists of 14 people: 2 professors, 6 candidates of sciences, 1 senior teacher and 5 assistants. The staff of the department consists of highly qualified specialists with scientific and theoretical knowledge in the direction and industry, with experience in the fields of road transport, road-building machines and equipment. The scientific potential of the department is 50%.

At the moment, the department has trained 5 doctors of sciences, 17 candidates of sciences, 2 PhDs, more than 100 masters and more than 4000 mechanical engineers and bachelors.